Where I’ve Been, Where I’m Going, and an Invitation

coverphoto4First of all, let me begin by saying thank you for the kind messages and the encouragement to keep showing up.  Although this space has been quiet for more months than I would have preferred, your words have nudged me through a season of re-evaluating my place in the online community.

God continues to stir my heart for the weary mom.  It’s not because I pity her. It’s because I AM HER.  May I be brutally honest for a moment, and just say that this gig is HARD?  And may I also confess that the digital noise just wearies me more?  Generally speaking, there is no shortage of advice but there is a frightening lack of transparency. Facebook and Instagram allow us to put our best face forward.  Literally.  A quick peruse of Pinterest will provide you with a plethora of quick fixes (which I too have been guilty of serving up). I can’t help but wonder if in our attempts to “get it all together”, if perhaps we’re robbing each other of the beauty of true community, nurtured by a healthy dose of truth-telling.  There is nothing wrong with a magazine-ready house or a perfectly styled table, but if my heart is muddy mess, I’m offering my family (and you) a lesser gift.

Our family is entering a new season as we prepare to begin homeschooling in a matter of weeks and there are changes coming here, that I believe will serve you, the reader, and my family in a way that feels more authentic to me, as a Jesus-follower, wife, mother, and friend.  In the days ahead, look for changes in format and function.  I will not disrupt the content archived here, but all new content will be focused on encouraging and refreshing those of us who feel overwhelmed, and will be served up in a space, better suited for simplicity with a less-traditional format. If you subscribe by email, the move should be seamless, (barring an unforeseen problem with exporting my subscriber list) but your subscription will arrive under a new name, and from a different host. I’ll provide more details here, just before moving day.  If this does not suit your needs, feel free to un-subscribe at any time, of course.

In the meantime, I’d like to take some time to get to know you a  bit better and to introduce you to one another.  It has been my experience that one of the best ways to build community is by serving one another together, and I’ve been pondering how this disjointed little tribe might do both. I really have no idea where this might lead but I believe it’s worth the risk of muddling through together and seeing where we end up. I’m going to ask (and answer) a question, and open up the comments for you to answer the question yourself, AND / OR to offer encouragement to someone else who may be struggling. You do NOT need to have a solution for her situation to encourage her.  Let’s resist the urge to “fix” each other.  Offer suggestions humbly with heaps of grace. Better yet,  just tell her you’ll pray for her over the next week. Then put a sticky note by the kitchen sink to remind you, and do it!

Here we go…

Q. As a mother, or as the keeper of your home, is there one area where you continually feel defeated?

 

10 thoughts on “Where I’ve Been, Where I’m Going, and an Invitation

  1. I have Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and I feel it’s stolen my life. I can’t care for my family in the way I’d want to, or be involved in my church the way I want to. The worst thing is, because of the nature of the illness, sometimes you can feel fine, do too much, then knock yourself out for days or even weeks. And because, in my case, I can almost hold it together, I feel that people think I’m exaggerating the tiredness and aching, and sometimes I feel if I could just get my act together….. So, like many of the writers above, I feel like I’ve failed.
    We need communists to be open and vulnerable in, and loving and supportive and, above all, live authentically. I’m feeling this very strongly just now.

    • Oh, I am so very sorry that you are battling this. My mom has struggled with a chronic illness since I was a very small child and I know the toll (physical AND emotional) that it has taken on her. I also know that there are no nice, easy answers. It’s one day, and sometimes one moment at a time. I don’t know exactly how you are feeling, but I know that Jesus does. May I pray for you this week? If you’re comfortable sharing it, I would love to pray for you by first name. If not, that’s ok too. Thank you so much for taking time to share your story here. I’m so thankful you felt safe in doing so. I hope you are able to rest this weekend and find refreshment.

  2. lack of patience, for me. whether it results in yelling or even just unkind words, i cringe to think back on it when my head finally hits the pillow at the end of the each and every day. i just feel like i can never get past it.

    glad you’re back!

    • Oh, how I can relate, Reb. And praying for patience is a bit frightening isn’t it? God usually gives me lots of extra opportunities to practice it when I ask for help. 🙂 I will pray for you this week! Thank you so much for jumping into the conversation here. I hope you enjoy your weekend.

  3. lol for me it is in a lot of areas depending on what I am doing at the time. I work and have a special needs adult child at home, my mom and my father in law live close by and I have my diabetic husband and 11 year old daughter. Sometimes it is time management, aka getting everything done today, sometimes it is financial management, sometimes it is organization and sometimes it is helping my daughter with her studies and teaching her at home because the school isn’t being able to teach anymore. Plus, I work outside the home also. lol So just typical mom stuff and thanks for all that you do and have done.

  4. I have been thinking about this a lot lately – the pintrest that I love is condemning at times with its beauty and simplicity, Facebook even worse with everyone’s highlight reels… A friend said to me recently, “you make it look easy” (I am mom to 4 – 3 bio and 1 adopted). I could only respond, “most nights I feel like such a failure”. I tend to hold the bar high for myself in general, and the “perfect-ness” of most of my pins just adds to the idea that I SHOULD be able to do it all…thanks for your honesty and willingness to muddle through out loud! I’ll be praying for you as you make the move and look forward to seeing it! 🙂

    • I just had a conversation this week with a parent of 5 (three under three), who told me the same thing – “At the end of the day, I always feel like I’m failing”. I so appreciated the transparency and I couldn’t help but wonder how many others feel the same way. Thank you for your honesty and for praying for me! Have a wonderful day.

  5. I have a habit of being too reactionary with our kids. At least once a day (usually more), I blurt something out in the (perceived) urgency of the moment, and immediately wish I could take it back. I long to be slower to speak, and for my words to be life-giving.

LEAVE A REPLY: Thanks so much for visiting!

